Action for Animals, Inc.

Muncie, IN

Annual Awards

We have two different awards that we usually present on a yearly basis.  The recipients of these awards have either been nominated by the general public through a letter to the board or the board members themselves have chosen the recipients.   If you would like to nominate someone for either award, please contact Teresa.

The Nila Purvis Animal Helper of the Year Award

 This award was began in 1987 in honor of Nila Purvis. It is given to an individual or group to acknowledge outstanding work in helping animals.

 Russel Bonham, Pat Clark, Wendell Moore, & Larry Patton
 1988  Beth Brunner, Martha Murdock, John Blackburn, & Ellen Lacey
 1989  Rhonda Cassidy
 1990   Melanie Riggin
 1991  Norman and Carole Foote & Family
 1992  Jenny Champion Workman
 1993  Charmaine Mosier, Charles Anderson, DVM, & Nell Young
 1994  Phyllis Said
 1995  Vicki Goyer
 1996  Terri Panszi
 1997  Rosie Stettler & Beth Brunner
 1998  Lisa Ayers
 1999  Teresa Sparks & Eleanor Faulkner
 2000  Rachel Brookman, Alexandra Ayers, Justin Cassidy, & Thelma Wright 
 2001  Sue Crandall
 2002  Jan Mansfield & Lori Seelen
 2003  Penny Decker & Kathy Bland
 2004  Amanda Eller & Shirley Pearson
 2005  Cathy Ringo & Ellen Brinkman
 2008  Sharon Sharkitt & Virginia Marie Fraser*
 2009  Dianna Bennington & Carol Dean
 2010  Eldon Cook Jr. & Jammie Minniear 

*awarded posthumously, given to John B. Straw, Assitant Dean for Digital Initiatives & Special Collections, BSU Libraries, Alexander M. Bracken Library

The Charles A. Anderson Pet Professional of the Year Award

 This award was enacted in 1995 in honor of Charles Anderson, DVM.  It is awarded to pet professionals who dedicate their life work to helping animals. He was given a plaque and a tree was planted in his name.

 1996 Cynthia Reason
 John Boyce, DVM 
(Boyce Animal Hospital)
 Mike Graves, DVM
(Care Animal Hospital)
 Mary Sachtleben, DVM
(Animal House Calls)
 2000  Eldon Cook, Jr. & PetSmart of Muncie
 Ken Stites, DVM & Terry Stevens, DVM
(Parker City Vet Clinic)
 2002  Muncie Obedience Training Club (MOTC)
 2003  Helping Animals Receive Mercy (HARM) Taskforce (Lisa Rich & Rebekah Carr) & Animal Medical Center
 David Grasso, DVM & Lisa Grasso, DVM 
(Albany Vet Clinic)
 Teresa Calvert, DVM & Debora Sayre, DVM
(Westview Animal Clinic)
 2008  Allisonville Animal Hospital & Feral Bureau of Indiana
 Animal Medical Center
(doctors and staff)
 Parker Vet Clinic 
(doctors and staff)
Website Builder